Civitas Spring Concert

May 28, 2023 at 2:00 PM

Schubert’s Trout Quintet needs no introduction. It is an all time favorite for the performers and the listeners. Did you know Schubert wrote this famous quintet at the invitation of Sylvester Paumgartner (host of Schubert’s summer vacations in 1819) who was particularly enamored with Nepomuk Hummel’s quintet for this instrumentation?

Louise Farrenc, a woman in a man’s world: 19th-century musical Paris, was a celebrated pianist and composer. Farrenc produced a considerable number of chamber works and three symphonies as well as a large output of solo piano music. Her two piano quintets with the ‘Trout’ instrumentation were inspired by Hummel and Schubert. Come join us for this season finale to celebrate the spring and welcome the summer!

Hummel Piano Quintet, Op. 87

Farrenc Piano Quintet No. 1, Op. 30

Schubert Piano Quintet in A Major, D. 667 Trout

Guest Artist: Weijing Wang Michal, Ian Hallas